Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

zfrenchy
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:33 pm

Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

Postby zfrenchy » Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:37 pm

I think it is a very commomn question, will be nice to have the answer here in the forum for sharing.

Timeline 1 is the "background timeline", let's say is the frogs singing in the swamp.
Somebody trip a trigger, the frogs shutoff the song and the swamp splashed using timeline 2, "splash timeline"
then the frogs are back and sing, "background timeline"

You get the story.

The questions:
- how to flip from one timeline to another with ONE external input ?
- or is it possible to control the volume of an audio track by an event ? :idea:

Ashley
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

Postby Ashley » Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:46 pm

There are a couple of ways to do this. You can add an event to the end of timeline 2 to play timeline 1 (you can add a fade to make the timeline come in smoothly). Although it will not continue timeline 1 where it left off this way. Is that what you want? Do you want Timeline 1 to continue where it left off or just start from the beginning?

Or are you looking for a way to use a single trigger to alternate between the two timelines each time it is pressed.

zfrenchy
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

Postby zfrenchy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:35 pm

- Timeline 1 PLAYED (the background)
- trigger activated = timeline 1 STOP + timeline 2 PLAY
- End of timeline 2 = STOP + PLAY timeline 1 (with fade start)

I made the timeline sequence already, but didn't find how to FADE start.

Ashley
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

Postby Ashley » Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:49 pm

I presume you are using a Cue button linked to your trigger to run your timelines.

When you hit your trigger you can fade to Timeline 2 using foreground timeline Cross-fading in VenueMagic SC+
We go over this feature in our 'Top 10 New Features In VenueMagic 3.0' video
https://youtu.be/W5JNSZBIKUg?t=4m8s
(NOTE: Make sure that Timelines 1 and 2 run on the same foreground level in the Cue List for this example I'm going to use Foreground 1)

You create the fade back into Timeline 1 using an event and Foreground Timeline Cross-fading again
In Timeline 2:
1. Add an Event Track
2. Grab Timeline 1 from the Project Window and drop it into the event track, about 1 second before the end of Timeline 2
3. Double Click on the Event we just created and click on the "Event" Tab
4. Under "Play as" Select Foreground 1
5. Click Foreground Settings
6. Select "Terminate all Foreground (1) Timelines"
7. In the "Crossfade audio time" fieldbox, put "1"

Now every time Timeline 2 finishes, it will fade back into Timeline 1.

Any Questions?

zfrenchy
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: Replace a timeline by an other trigger by external input

Postby zfrenchy » Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:11 pm

thank you

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest